Records Retention Schedules


Like other county offices, the Dakota County Clerk's office retains documents for a set period of time. The required time period for many of these documents is set by the Nebraska Records Retention Division in Lincoln. Our office is primarily guided by two schedules, Schedule 12 and Schedule 24. For your convenience we are providing the links to these documents if you so choose to research.

Schedule 11 - County Register of Deeds

Schedule 12 - County Clerks, County Board, Election Commissioner.

Schedule 24 - General Records for Local Government.

Schedule 128 - Tax Equalization & Review Commission

You may also view the retention schedules used for other County Offices by visiting the Nebraska Records Management Website