DAKOTA COUNTY PLANNING COMMISSION: APRIL 16, 2024 MINUTES

The regular meeting of the Dakota County Planning Commission was called to order at 7:00 P.M. by Chairman Marty Rohde and the Pledge of Allegiance was said by all.

Roll Call: Present were: Scott Bousquet, Ron Collins, Tim Decker, Ron Gill, Gordon Hegge, Steven Lieber, Dick McCabe, Harold Moes, and Martin Rohde. Absent: None. Also, present: Planning and Zoning Administrator Joe O'Neill and Dakota County Commissioner Troy Launsby. Public present: See attached list

Notice was made regarding the Open Meeting Act posted on the wall.

Moved by Tim Decker, second by Scott Bousquet, to approve the minutes of the February 20, 2024 meeting minutes. Consent unanimous. Motion carried.

The Commission discussed conditions for the carbon pipeline conditional use permit. After a lengthy discussion a motion was made by Tim Decker, second, by Ron Collins to table the discussion until they hear lowa or South Dakota has received their permits. Roll Call Vote. Unanimous. Motion Carried.

The Commission discussed solar regulations. Rachel Walker, Audrey Copeland and Ethan Frazier with Mission Energy gave a presentation on the potential project in Dakota County. They are looking at a 1500-acre solar farm by H Ave and Hwy 35 and hooking into the substation north of Hwy 35. Mission Energy will continue to work with the planning commission to help them modify Dakota County's commercial solar regulations so they are as up to date as possible.

The Planning Commission renewed Conditional Use Permits for the County. First CUP is Curtis Arndt's towing service. With no complaints on the property a motion was made by Ron Collins, second by Steven Lieber to approve Arndt's CUP renewal. Roll Call Vote. Unanimous. Motion Carried. Next CUP is for Kevin Pedersen for Ellenay Country Events, LLC. Motion made by Tim Decker, second by Scott Bousquet to renew CUP for Kevin Pederson. Roll Call Vote. Unanimous. Motion Carried. Next CUP is for Lynch Properties RV Park. Motion made by Harold Moes, second by Scott Bousquet to renew CUP for Lynch Properties RV Park. Roll Call Vote. Unanimous. Motion Carried. Final CUP is for Rob Nelson for a truck/trailer/equipment sales business. Motion made by Ron Collins, second by Steven Lieber. Roll Call Vote. Unanimous. Motion Carried.

Mr. Tietjen was on the agenda to discuss Airbnb rentals but could not attend.

Miscellaneous and old business. Informational Statements were issued to Duane Berg – storage shed- Emerson, Steven Lieber-calving barn-Jackson

Marty opened up the floor for public comment. Joe read a letter from Deborah Main, a Sioux City resident that has been helping Iowa residents regarding the carbon pipelines. Her letter addressed several concerns she had regarding the pipeline and wanted to make sure Dakota County Planning Commission was aware of them. Ron Hartnett gave a statement in favor of solar energy and opposing the Summit Carbon pipeline. Brent Niese addressed some of the concerns from Deborah's letter regarding the pipeline.

Moved by Ron Collins, second by Tim Decker to adjourn. Consent unanimous. Motion carried Meeting was duly adjourned at 8:30 P.M. Respectfully submitted,
Jolene Gubbels